Local Government Areas

The Fitzroy Region overlaps 12 Local Government Areas (or council areas), who are also involved in looking after the environment and natural resources.

Local governments play several roles in maintaining and protecting natural assets on both private and public land within their area. FBA works closely with local governments to develop and deliver projects to protect and enhance our region. With the support of the Australian Government through the National Landcare Program, local government associations from Queensland and New South Wales have produced a number of publications and guidelines that may also be useful for landholders, groups and businesses – find resources here.

FBA works closely with:

Explore our interactive map to learn more

Download a map of the local government areas in the Fitzroy Region:

Click to download A4 PDF version (2.5MB)